Home > Science, Space > Planets Count in Solar System Set to Become Twelve from Present Nine

Planets Count in Solar System Set to Become Twelve from Present Nine

by Shivaranjan on August 20, 2006


If International Astronomical Union (IAU) has it is way (Controversial definition for planet) then we will have twelve planets in our solar system instead of current nine planets. These are the new expected planets:

  • The asteroid Ceres, which is round, would be recast as a dwarf planet in the new scheme.
  • Pluto would remain a planet and its moon Charon would be reclassified as a planet. Both would be called “plutons,” however, to distinguish them from the eight “classical” planets.
  • A far-out Pluto-sized object known as 2003 UB313 would also be called a pluton.

The new controversial definition of Planet:

“A planet is a celestial body that (a) has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a hydrostatic equilibrium (nearly round) shape, and (b) is in orbit around a star, and is neither a star nor a satellite of a planet.”

This is how our new solar systems should look like:

Click on the image to enlarge

What do you think about this new proposed arrangement??
Via Space.com

Did you enjoy this article? Please subscribe to RSS Feed to receive all the updates!

Related Posts:

  • No related posts found

{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

lipstick sized thunderbolt blackberry October 30, 2014 at 2:18 am

I just like the valuable info you supply for your articles.
I’ll bookmark your weblog and check once more right here
regularly. I am reasonably certain I will learn many new
stuff proper here! Good luck for the next!

em poker suggestions October 29, 2019 at 5:36 pm

You should be a part of a contest for one of the greatest websites on the web.
I’m going to highly recommend this website!

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: